Race in This Country and the Aftermath of the Zimmerman Trial

31 Jul

There has been a lot going on these past several weeks.  I mentioned in my last entry about the Trayvon Martin case.  The case and the aftermath of it have sparked debate over race in our country.  The Jury’s verdict outraged many.  I mentioned in my previous post that I have been disappointed on how quickly this became a political issue.  Politics affect almost everything in our lives and while I thought that the case shouldn’t have been about politics, I feel that there should be a discussion about the Stand Your Ground law and this case.  I also think that it is even more important to look at how people reacted to the aftermath of this case.

As I mentioned, many people are outraged with the verdict, but I am happy that most people protested peacefully.  There were demonstrations and boycotts, but not widespread rioting as some people predicted.  Whatever your opinion on this case is, no one should be gloating or be ecstatic because George Zimmerman was found not guilty and if you are; you probably shouldn’t consider yourself pro-life.  What happened was a tragedy any way you look at it and should not be considered a victory or defeat.  Before, during and after this case there has been discussion about race in our country.  I feel that we should be able to discuss this in a civil matter. 

President Obama said after (and before this trial started) that Trayvon Martin could have been him.  He also spoke about what it is like to be an African-American in the United States.  I think it is good that he brought this up because many of us don’t know what it is like to be treated like a suspect without doing anything wrong.  I am a white male and I haven’t been accused of something without doing anything wrong.  I have, however, been picked on because of my religion.  It shouldn’t matter who we are or where we come from because we are all people.  Unfortunately there are still ignorant people who will judge people because of the color of their skin or their religion. 

Conservative radio host Sean Hannity had a racist response to President Obama’s comments (specifically to the point, “If I had a son he’d look like Trayvon”). Sean Hannity’s response was, “Is that the President admitting that because he’s part of the choom gang and smoked pot and did a little blow, I’m not sure how to interpret that because we know Trayvon Martin had been smoking pot that night.”

Hannity’s response was one of the most racist comments that I have heard in the aftermath of this case.  It shows how narrow-minded he is about race and reality in general.  I think he should apologize, but I’m not that naïve as to expect it.  The election of President Obama didn’t end racism in this country, but it showed progress for tolerance.  I wish there weren’t ignorant people like Sean Hannity or others but there are, and there always will be.  I just hope there  will be fewer racist people in the future than there are at the present time.  We have evolved as a country over the years when it comes to race, I just hope we continue that trend.

Leave a Reply

